Something went wrong loading this image.
James W. Lewis is President of the National Society of High School Scholars (NSHSS), which he established in 2002 along with friend and Co-founder Claes Nobel, a member of the family that established the Nobel Prizes.
About James W. Lewis NSHSS Executive Leadership
Originally from Sweden, he held dual citizenship from Sweden and the US and was a member of the family that established the Nobel Prizes. Mr. Nobel was a passionate proponent of humanitarian and environmental causes.
About Claes Nobel NSHSS Executive Leadership

The NSHSS Advisory Board was established in 2002 by Co-founder Claes Nobel who served as the Chair until his passing in April 2021.

  • Advisory Board Chair Greg Goff, member ExxonMobil Board of Directors
  • Paul J. Crutzen, Ph.D., Nobel Laureate, Chemistry 1995
  • Ed Harris, Actor, Producer, Director
  • James J. Heckman, Ph.D., Nobel Laureate, Economics 2000
  • Herbert Kroemer, Ph.D., Nobel Laureate, Physics 2000
  • Anthony Leggett, Ph.D., Nobel Laureate, Physics 2003
  • Rudolph A. Marcus, Ph.D., Nobel Laureate, Chemistry 1992
  • Kiran Mazumar-Shaw, Chairman & Managing Director, Biocon Limited
  • Ferid Murad, M.D., Ph.D., Nobel Laureate, Medicine 1998
  • Stanley Prusiner, M.D., Nobel Laureate, Medicine 1997
  • Inge Thulin, Former CEO, President & Chairman, 3M
  • Sir John E. Walker, Ph.D., Nobel Laureate, Chemistry 1997
  • Di Yerbury, Ph.D., Vice-Chancellor Emeritus, Macquarie University (Sydney, Australia)
  • Dr. Allan Zeman GBM, GBS, JP, Chairman of Lan Kwai Fong Group

An Emphasis on Leadership

NACAC President Nancy Beane at The Carter Center Holiday Event

Nancy Beane, counselor at the Westminster Schools, discusses her role within NSHSS and the benefits…

Arne Duncan is a recipient of the 2014 Claes Nobel World Betterment Award

Arne Duncan, former CEO of Chicago Public Schools and current U.S. Secretary of Education, speaks ab…

NSHSS Membership: Building Your Personal and Professional Network

NSHSS Fellows Executive Board President Morgan Vazquez shares her experience as an NSHSS member. She…